About Autism Matters

Autism Matters is the quarterly magazine of the regional charity Autism West Midlands. The magazine features articles written by people with autism and their families alongside news and updates from the charity.

To subscribe to the print edition please visit our online shop www.autismworld.co.uk to become a member.


Support Groups

Below is a list of all west midlands supports groups.

Birmingham 

  • South Birmingham ASPire Support Group, Joanne Gumbrell, joanneg@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • Parent Support Group – Asperger Syndrome, Mike Pinsent, contact@theirstory.co.uk
  • Acocks Green AWM Support Group, Katie Oliver, katieo@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • AS Partners, Jenny Moore, aspartnerswestmids@yahoo.co.uk, 07875299304
  • North Birmingham ASPire Support Group, Joanne Gumbrell, joanneg@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • Kingstanding Support Group, Stephanie Higgins, steph@hskingstanding.co.uk, 01212588303
  • Great Barr AWM Support Group, Sarah Jane Winch, sarah-janew@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • Sutton Coldfield Autism Support Group, Victoria Roche, victoria-roche@sky.com, 07905654632
  • Central Birmingham ASPire Support Group, Joanne Gumbrell, joanneg@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • Yardley ASD Support Group, The Greens, green43@blueyonder.co.uk 01216842226
  • Autism Plus Support Group Maura Perry, tlpph@yahoo.co.uk, 01213546777
  • Birmingham North Support Group, Tina Martin, 01213550015
  • Special Needs Awareness Group (SNAG), Jackie Simmonds, jackie@middlemore.co.uk, 01214279791
  • Spectrum Support Group – Sheldon, spectrumsupportgroup@blueyonder.co.uk

 Sandwell 

  • Sandwell ASPire Support Group, Joanne Gumbrell, joanneg@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582

Dudley 

  • Dudley Autistic Support Group, Neale Pilkington, nealepilkington@blueyonder.co.uk, 01384823487
  • TOADS (Adults and Adolescents), Sandra Croot, 01384279621

Walsall 

  • Walsall Support Group (Younger Children), Heather Spurr, mikespurr@fsnet.co.uk, 01213532710
  • Autism Sharing & Caring (ASC), Sue Ebbans, parentpartnership@walsall.gov.uk, 01922650330

Wolverhampton 

  • Support group for adults, Contact Vanessa Frost, 01902 652933, email supportaas@hotmail.co.uk
  • Group for Children with Autism, Contact Laura Plant, 01902 877550, lplant@spurgeons.org

Shropshire 

  • Spectrum, Jeannette Griffiths, netgriffiths@gmail.com, 07852691774
  • STACS (Asperger Syndrome), Barry Brown, 01952254594
  • Telford Group, Tina Bentley Rogers, 07521295591
  • Autonomy (Young people/adults with AS), autonomyshropshire@yahoo.co.uk, 01743 821363

Staffordshire 

  • Stafford Saturday Play club, Mandy Binns, mandy.binns.uk@googlemail.com, 01785 665232 or 07944001606
  • Stafford AWM support group, Sarah Jane Winch, sarah-janew@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • Jigsaw support group, Machita Denny, machita_denny@btinternet.com, 07882 823954
  • North Staffs Asperger Autism Association, 01782 627002, info@nsaaa.co.uk, www.nsaaa.org.uk
  • Staffordshire Adults Autistic Society, 01782 617088 or 07751 223065, infosaas@ntlworld.com, www.saas.uk.co,
  • The Grove Parent Support Group , Debbie Lipton , 01785 356412 , office@thegrove.staffs.sch.uk
  • Burntwood DASH (Discover Autism Support Here) , Wendy Smith , 0759 9062 633 , wendysmith_581@fsmail.net
  • Lichfield Aspergers’ Parents Support Group , Helen Hartshorn , 07770656628 , aspergers@bbdpl.co.uk
  • Whits End , 07757246633 , whits-endlichfield@hotmail.co.uk , NAS Tamworth Parents Group
  • Sharlene Davies , 07500 089 529 , sharlene.davis@nas.org.uk
  • Staffordshire ASD Parent Support Group , Caroline Heath , 01283 521 408 or 07855 276 566 , chocolatecaz@talktalk.net
  • Harmony Group , Tracey Holmes , 07941015497 , tracyholmes@harmonygroup.co.uk
  • West Hill Primary School , Marguerite Gleave , 01543 5122 00 , office@westhill.staffs.sch.uk
  • Peton First School , Sarah Alford , Sarah.louise.alford@googlemail.com
  • St Nicholas ASD Parent Supprt Group , Donna Parker,  01902 434 126, office@stnicholas.staffs.sch.uk
  • Lifeworks Staffordshire , 01782 615 222 , lifeworks1@btconnect.com
  • NSAAA (North Staffs Asperger/ Autism Association) , 01782 627 002 , info@nsaaa.co.uk

Warwickshire 

  • Nuneaton and Bedworth AWM Support Group (Parent/Carer) , Katie Oliver , katieo@autismwestmidlands.org.uk , 0121 4507582
  • Coleshill AWM Support Group , Katie Oliver , katieo@autismwestmidlands.org.uk , 0121 4507582
  • Leamington AWM Support Group , Katie Oliver , katieo@autismwestmidlands.org.uk , 0121 4507582
  • Rugby AWM Support Group , Katie Oliver , katieo@autismwestmidlands.org.uk , 0121 4507582
  • Stratford Upon Avon District Branch , Karen Varga , stratforduponavon@nas.org.uk , 07500881831

Coventry 

  • Coventry Support Group , Mary O’Hagan , cafag@yahoo.com , 02476222958
  • Coventry Support Group , Phillip James , phillip.james70@ntlworld.com , 02476222958
  • Get Together – for people with autism/ aspergers and their families , Claire Vyse , info@gettogether.uk.com , 02476367479
  • Coventry Asperger Group (Adults) , Colin White , rayrichmond@yahoo.com , 07953151665

Solihull 

  • Solihull ASPire Support Group (adults) , Joanne Gumbrell , joanneg@autismwestmidlands.org.uk , 0121 4507582
  • SASSI – Autism Parent Support Group , Katie Oliver , katieo@autismwestmidlands.org.uk, 0121 4507582
  • Solihull ASD Siblings Support Group , Kerry Purnell , purnellkerry@hotmail.com , 07734734907

Worcestershire 

  • Spectrum Club (Young People on the spectrum 13-19) , Tina Mason-Williams , t-masonwilliams@btinternet.com , 01323762024
  • WaASP (Adults) , David Thain , davethain@gmail.com , 07518365212
  • Bromsgrove & Redditch Support Group , Charmain McCrossin , charm.bluebell@blueyonder.co.uk ,07981011362
  • AS Active , Francis Musgrave , info@asactive.org

Back to Top ↑